ChatGPT - How are you and your students using AI?

Question:

Hi everyone,

I've been really engaged in the discussion around ChatGPT in education, particularly on Twitter, over the last couple of months. With the constant updates and development of AI, I thought it might be interesting to hear how others are using it either as teachers or with students. As a secondary teacher I'm constantly learning new ways of how it can be used, and I'm challenging myself to come up with ideas for how it can engage learning for my students.

So far these are my ideas, I'd love to hear yours:

• I had it generate study schedules for students targeted at different abilities / age levels by providing it with entire syllabuses and guidelines.
  • I've had it generate stimulus for creative writing
  • I've asked it to find historical sources which it still struggles with in terms of accuracy, but this allows for the opportunity for students to see the inaccuracies, explain why they aren't correct and then work to fix them.
  • I've used it to generate questions based on a written tasks I've given it.
  • I've created 'bump-up' tasks where I've written a model text and then I've given ChatGPT the marking rubric and my response and asked it to re-write it as a 6/10 and then 3/10 response which was really interesting.
  • I've had students ask it to generate questions for them to reflect on a lesson as well as revision question for them as part of their study.

I like how it can be refined like "use the language of a high school student" or create a goal for a student who is struggling with a particular skill...

I know there are challenges and this is something we need to address, but I'd really like to hear how you've seen it add to your students' learning.

Question marked as Helpful

Posted on March 17, 2023 in response to Erin