Everyone Can Code Projects: Introducing coding and app development activities to your students

Question:

In 2016, I started teaching coding to 11- to 13-year-olds. As an English as a Second Language (ELS) teacher by trade, I had never learned any coding beyond some basic HTML, but Apple’s Everyone Can Code curriculum gave me the confidence to do it. I was teaching at a secondary school for immigrants in Amsterdam, and we felt that it was important for these students to learn this essential skill. All students had access to an iPad, so the Everyone Can Code curriculum was a natural fit. Since then, I have taught myself coding principles and how to create simple apps using only Apple’s learning materials. I genuinely believe that not only can everyone learn to code, but also that every teacher can teach code. The Swift Playgrounds app has proven a perfect tool for this journey. 

For instance, the newly published Everyone Can Code projects make it especially easy to teach coding as they are step-by-step instructions. In fact, they are designed with novice coding teachers in mind and provide a structured approach to teaching coding. Furthermore, the web format is easy to share and includes a project presentation in Keynote, which also serves as a student workbook. Certainly, these projects empower students to design and build their first apps with Swift Playgrounds while honing their problem-solving skills and nurturing their creative abilities. 

You can download the projects for free from the Apple Education Community. So, if you have not used Swift Playgroundsbefore, this is a good starting point to learn about the app. 

4 Everyone Can Code Projects 

Everyone Can Code Projects consist of four lessons tackling a different set of fundamental coding skills. 

Design a Simple App