A time for our own coaching reflection

Question:

I am an EdTech Coach (officially - Instructional Technology Facilitator) at a high school in Collierville, TN. In my role, I work with teachers to help integrate the use of technology in lesson and provide professional development to our staff.

In a little over a week, we will begin the start of testing season in my school. Between end of course state testing, AP exams, CLEP testing, and senior device collection coming up, I know that requests to work through coaching cycles with our faculty for this school year will come to an end very soon. I like to use this time to reflect on what I accomplished over the past year - What worked? What didn't work? What do I want to try next year?

My hope in posting this here was that we could start a conversation amongst coaches and provide support to each other and maybe pick up an idea or two from each other.

What worked?

• At the start of the 2022 school year, I began implementation of a mini observation plan for the teachers with whom I work. My plan was to observe the student use of technology in short 10-15 minute classroom visits. I had individual discussions with our teachers to explain what I wanted to do and why...everyone was open to the idea. I send teachers an email a couple of days ahead of time to announce when I plan to visit (they are always provided the ability to tell me no) and send an email after the observation with a thank you and suggestion or quick tip for a lesson idea. I want them to always view me as a positive presence in their rooms. After doing this for a second year, I believe that it once again had a positive influence on my impact with our faculty.
  • Always being a sounding board and willing to listen to the struggles of our teachers has been a great way to continue to build relationships. Making myself available and listening when needed is something that we can all benefit from.

🚫 What didn't work? 🚫