Moving the physical classroom from static to interative

Question:

Good afternoon, wonderful community,

I am a Secondary English teacher from Australia. One of my goals this year is to create a dynamic and engaging classroom that supports my students. In particular, I am trying to create an environment that is interactive.

So far, I have added QR codes around the room that link students to ebooks, helpful websites, early finisher activities, etc.

I was curious to see what others have done to make their physical classroom more interactive for students.

Posted on March 12, 2023 in response to ameliaa

Hi Amelia, great question. Setting up your space as best as you can to allow for collaboration is important. I know secondary is trickier in that sense as you don’t always have one room. I assume you have iPad and in which case the interactivity is in the hands of each student. So it’s really about interactive and engaging learning experiences.

So many ways you can engage students in English. Infographics, Podcasting, Visual Notetaking, Inquiry, Animation and of course the many ideas in the Everyone Can Create Guides ~ Drawing, Photography, Video & Music . For more interactivity as far as movement goes you could explore Augmented Reality.

Check out Apples Elements of Learning book to explore ways to make creativity and creation an essential part of learning.

https://books.apple.com/au/book/elements-of-learning/id1367981260

Here are some other great resources in Apple Books from Australia Teachers too. https://books.apple.com/au/book/exploring-australia-with-ipad-year-7-8/id6445080937

https://books.apple.com/au/book/digital-inquiry-capturing-wonder/id6445149849

Good Luck.

Posted on March 20, 2023 in response to JulieP

Thank you, Julie. Yes, I have an ipad and apple TV which I love. I have used some of these ideas, but not all so thank you for the reminder to look back through the apple elements books, they are such a great resource :)