Posted on May 30, 2023 in response to bfiore34 In response to bfiore34
Hello, and thanks for the question.
As so often is the case with Deployment and Management, your experience may vary depending on several variables. Two that immediately come to mind in this situation are deployment model and MDM implementation.
I just ran a test where I used an MDM solution to place an iPad into Managed Lost Mode. I then sent a command to erase this iPad. After it deleted all content and settings, I was prompted in the Setup Assistant to re-enroll into the MDM (thanks to Automated Device Enrollment). After it enrolled, it was immediately placed in Lost Mode again. Your MDM may handle these commands differently and your Automated Device Enrollment settings may differ from mine.
I recommend reaching out to your MDM solution and seek their recommendation to create the desired outcomes.
I'm in the process of collecting our iPads for the summer, and am wanting to wipe devices in specific device groups. My question is, if these devices are currently in Lost Mode, will being wiped cause the iPad to exit Lost Mode and become unlocked?