When Leaders Model with Technology...

Question:

I am a technology integration coach and coordinator in Waukesha, WI. We have had iPads and Macs in our system for 8 years, and something we have consistently witnessed along the way is this: When a leader takes a step forward and models a tool or practice that utilizes the technology they wish to see in their classrooms, teachers will reverberate that modeling in their classroom.

Looking for ideas from other leaders in the community on ways you have led by modeling Apple technology with your staff in meetings, professional learning, or other ways. I'd love to be able to share your tangible ideas with building and district leaders in our system, giving credit to other educational leaders, and adding credibility to the idea of modeling as a means of making a transformative change.

Question marked as Helpful

Posted on August 30, 2022 in response to BrianYearl1ng

As a district leader, I love to use Pages for curriculum documents. More than modeling the use of the tool, I am making the content more accessible to my teachers. I record audio of my voice as I explain specific instructional strategies or teaching methods, I insert images with descriptions, and I add video to demonstrate processes.

I want to inspire my teachers to make their lessons and resources more accessible, too.

Attachments

Posted on August 31, 2022 in response to BrianYearl1ng

We frequently use clips and iPad screen recording when making professional learning videos for teachers. We do this very intentionally so that when someone says “But I can’t make something like that”, we can respond with, “Yes you can. Let me walk you through how”.

There’s more to the conversation

Read all replies

Here is a model described in this post “Teacher Tip Tuesday” by Samantha Dias that I appreciated. Professional Learning…What Can It Look Like In Schools?https://education.apple.com/en/story/250010724