Reluctant to Explore Digital

Question:

Hello, I am a district resource teacher who trains and supports teachers with instructional technology. I have decades of classroom experience and understand the challenges of time, class management, and and because of that I want to offer the resources that will save teachers time and support their instructional goals.

My question is: How do you present the tech tools that could provide almost immediate relief to a specific challenge when the teacher is unable to see a way to attempt one more strategy or tool. Our teachers are exhausted and many feel defeated. I don't want to force anything on them but I do want to give them a way to feel successful and even happy with their work.

I look forward to hearing about the experiences of this group!

Posted on February 07, 2023 in response to 623NB

Thanks for this important question! Teachers do have so much on their plates and it is a challenge for many to include new learning. Perhaps a one step at a time approach might work. If they select just one tip or idea to try that helps with their workload they might be inspired to try more. I like Apple Education’s 30 Time-Saving Tips for Teachers. It provides choices that can help with workload.

Posted on February 18, 2023 in response to cherylD

I share the 30 time-saving tips with preservice teachers as well, Cheryl! Many of them are new to iPad and finding little ways to make their workflow more efficient is a great way to get buy-in, so they're more excited to dive in and consider ways that they can transform learning, too.

Posted on February 09, 2023 in response to 623NB

Hi friends!

That is a difficult challenge to overcome. Like Cheryl said take small incremental steps at introducing something new so as to not overwhelm. One thing to try is maybe create a short tutorial video using clips and email it out so teachers can view it when they have the time and if they are interested can reach out.